Yes, I disappeared down the rabbit hole for a while. Last March, I found out I was pregnant and as spring turned into summer, blogging didn’t seem to fit into the schedule anymore once I hit my second trimester. I was still surfing. It was my mental clarity as always, but increasingly it became a personal statement, a proverbial finger to folks who thought it was too dangerous, too this or too that. With the help of Google I found a few ladies in Hawaii who continued to surf throughout their pregnancies: Among them, Heather of Mama Surfs, who inspired me to keep surfing with the Big Bump. One serendipitous day at Malibu, I was catching a few waves when Brian Asher took this shot. I am super grateful he caught this moment with Zander in my belly. As without, so within. The membranes that separated me from baby seemed a lot more permeable when I was on the surface of the ocean.

130429_throwback_2

“Each of us carries in our veins a salty stream in which the elements sodium, potassium, and calcium are combined in almost the same proportions as sea water. And as life itself began in the sea, so each of us begins his individual life in a miniature ocean within his mother’s womb…” — Rachel Carson